Akinwumi Adesina, President of the African Development Bank, has said while receiving Obafemi Awolowo Prize for Leadership in Nigeria's commercial capital, Lagos, on March 6, 2024.The award promotes the legacy and democratic ideals of the late Nigerian nationalist and federalist leader Chief Obafemi Awolowo.

Employ Welfarist Policies and People-Centred Development in Tackling Poverty

By Abdi Ali Published March 11, 2024 Given the high levels of poverty in Africa, what is needed are welfarist policies that exponentially expand opportunities for all, reduce inequalities and improve the quality of life of people. Akinwumi Adesina, President of the African Development Bank, has said this while receiving…

Read More
Dr Catherine Nakalembe, from Uganda, won the Prize for being a distinguished expert in the field of crop mapping and monitoring, using remote sensing and machine learning techniques. She also leads NASA Harvest Africa program at the University of Maryland, which provides methods and systems to smallholder farmers in Africa, enhancing their skills.

Kuwait’s Al-Sumait Prize for African Development Announces Winners

By Khalifa Hemed Published January 4, 2024 The Al-Sumait Prize for African Development for 2022 has been awarded to Catherine Nakalembe and African Agricultural Technology Foundation (AATF). The Kenya-based AATF that is chaired by Professor Aggrey Ambali has won the Prize for its success in enabling small scale farmers in…

Read More
L-R: ABH Grand Finale Judge Ibukun Awosika, Founder of The Chair Centre Group; ABH 2023 Second Prize Winner Thomas Njeru, CEO and Co-Founder of Pula Advisors Limited; ABH Grand Finale Judge Joe Tsai, Chairman of Alibaba Group; ABH 2023 First Prize Winner Dr. Ikpeme Neto, CEO and Founder of Wellahealth Technologies; ABH 2023 Third Prize Winner Ayman Bazaraa, CEO and Co-Founder of Sprints; ABH Grand Finale Judge Dr. Diane Karusisi, CEO of Bank of Kigali

Africa’s Business Heroes Prize Competition for Entrepreneurial Excellence Announces Winners

By Abdi Ali Published December 21, 2023 Entrepreneurs from Nigeria, Kenya and Egypt have taken the top three positions in the 2023 edition of Africa’s Business Heroes (ABH) Prize Competition. ABH Prize Competition, a philanthropic initiative sponsored by Jack Ma Foundation and Alibaba Philanthropy, has named Ikpeme Neto (CEO and…

Read More
Since its inception, five African organisations have been selected as finalists namely, Reeddi Capsules (from Nigeria), Pole Pole Foundation (from the Democratic Republic of Congo), ROAM , Sanergy and Mukuru Clean Stoves (from Kenya). In 2022 Mukuru Clean Stoves won the Clean Our Air Earthshot. Mukuru Clean Stoves is a start-up providing cleaner-burning stoves to women in Kenya to reduce unhealthy indoor pollution and provide a safer way to cook.

Enter Global Environmental Conservation Contest and Win £1 Million Prize

By Abdi Ali Published November 10, 2023 Earthshot Prize invites innovators, entrepreneurs, community leaders and climate change activists to submit their entries to the 2024 edition of the competition. The Earthshot Prize, a global environmental prize to discover, accelerate, and scale ground-breaking solutions to repair and regenerate the planet, is…

Read More
FIFA Secretary General Fatma Samoura to Receive the World Football Summit Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of her of her remarkable achievements and influence on the future of football, as well as her significant contributions to the global game through sustainable progress, innovative excellence, and societal impact.

FIFA Secretary General to Receive Lifetime Achievement Award

By APO Group Published August 3, 2023 FIFA’s first female Secretary General, Fatma Samoura, who winds up her role in December 2023 is set to receive the inaugural World Football Summit Lifetime Achievement Award. Fatma Samoura will be presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award at the upcoming World Football Summit…

Read More
Cross section of AWIEF Awards Winners 2022 in Cairo, Egypt

Africa Women Innovation and Entrepreneurship Forum Awards Call for Nominations

By Khalifa Hemed Published June 8, 2023 Africa Women Innovation and Entrepreneurship Forum (AWIEF) invites nominations for the 2023 AWIEF Awards. The initiative, that is in its seventh edition, recognises, honours, and celebrates the achievements of female entrepreneurs and business owners in Africa, across various industry sectors, for their contribution…

Read More